Home > National > HK Thunder > Hong Kong Thunder Starting Line-Up Announced

Hong Kong Thunder Starting Line-Up Announced

Hong Kong Rugby League announce starting line-up to face Japan this Saturday at the Sogo Ground of Inagi Chuo Park in Inagi City, Tokyo.

Wan Chai Warriors’ Tommy Wong makes his debut at full back. Alvin Chan keeps his place on the wing after an assured display in the first test. Ben Mouclier moves to the wing after displaying pace that will keep Japan on their toes. Pacific Toa’s Hogan Toomalatai moves into centre and another debutant Ghislain Baleyte stakes his claim as the other centre to complete the backs.

In the halves, we see Head Coach Jason Fairleigh at stand-off, providing experience and knowledge to help steer Hong Kong towards a first test victory. Gus Spence keeps his scrum half berth after an impressive try scoring first test.

Ben Ryan’s barnstorming second half performance sees him start with Jack Nielsen in the props. Ice cool captain Ringo Lung again starts as hooker. After recovering from injury, Jason Yip remains in the second row hoping to provide guile and steel in the pack. Providing size and pace the dashing Richard Lindsay pushes up into second row. Alex Shvets starts at loose forward, earning himself his first cap, he’s young, fit, and hits like a truck and is one to watch.

Completing the squad, we have Toby Lei, Craig McMurrich and Udo Wong who are all flying from overseas to compete. Allan Newsome has been drafted in to replace the injured Dylan Navra as the final interchange.

Hong Kong Rugby League would like to thank sponsors, Redsip, Aimviva and CoreOfit for their support.

Match schedule

The match will take place 16 June 2018 at the Sogo Ground of Inagi Chuo Park in Inagi City, Tokyo. Kick off has been confirmed at 13.30 (GMT+9).

Japan (UTC +9) Sat, 16 Jun 2018 – 13:30

United Kingdom (UTC +1) Sat, 16 Jun 2018 – 05:30

Hong Kong (UTC +8) Sat, 16 Jun 2018 – 12:30

Australia (UTC +10) Sat, 16 Jun 2018 – 14:30

NY, USA (UTC -4) Sat, 16 Jun 2018 – 00:30