Home > Domestic > Carnegies Kowloon Tigers inaugural champions of the ICG Super League 2017

Carnegies Kowloon Tigers inaugural champions of the ICG Super League 2017

The Carnegies Kowloon Tigers defeated the Wan Chai Warriors 41-22 in a historic Grand Final to be crowned the inaugural ICG Super League champions, Hong Kong’s first ever domestic rugby league club competition.

A hugely physical and tense opening quarter saw both sides exchanging scores as well as big tackles, with Fazial Solomona leading the carry count for the Warriors early doors. However, the Tigers began to dictate play through their impressive spine of Joshua Hrstich, Ed Styles and Josh Meninga, controlling territory and possession and converting them into points. Hrstich in particular was impressive with his carrying, beating a number of defenders and making some telling breaks.

The Tigers, who finished the season with a 100% win record, went into half time in the ascendancy and pulled away further at the start of the second half, building a bigger scoreline whilst a number of repeated offside infringements by the Warriors hurt them badly. The Warriors did rally back in the final quarter with a number of scores, but ultimately the quality of the Tigers shone through in the end with the final score finishing at 41-22.

You may also like
2019 HKRL 9s Announced
Pacific Toa crowned HKRL Super League 2018 Champions
Wanchai Warriors beat Valley Broncos, to meet Kowloon Tigers in ICG Super League final
South victorious against North 30-14 in Battle of Origin